June 12, 2016 Sketches

This weekend I didn’t really have a chance to sit down and paint much, but I did have some time to try sketching some possible areas and studying some subjects that I could paint later on. I recently ordered a sketchbook from CheapJoes and brought it, along with a standard  #2 Ticonderoga pencil, during my travels with me on my bike. Included in this post are two of my more complete sketches. Naturally, one becomes better at these things with time, but starting somewhere is better than not starting at all.

front house pine tree

It’s a funny thing how when you sketch you really look at a subject and understand that what you see is not only ‘tree’, for instance, but, in transcribing its features onto a paper, that it is a series of curves and values and hues.  That is all very interesting, of course, and not so easy to capture if you are just starting out, like I am. However, I came across the notion of painting from life as something that comes highly recommended by almost all successful artists. Thus, gathering inspiration and references from life seems to be a good starting point.

lake view from boat launch

I think I will have this sketchbook filled over the course of a few months and really get to know my subjects and plan my paintings accordingly to increase my success rate. After all, what you take out of a painting session is what you put into it, as is true for most things in life. You just have to be willing to put in the time and effort, and the passion, of course! 🙂

One thought on “June 12, 2016 Sketches

Leave a Reply

