Father’s Day – Painting for Dad

I always had to struggle with something for my parents as a gift. Often times it would turn into a service, or a warm talk, maybe bringing Dad an extra cup of hot coffee and a peck on the cheek. For mom, I would make dinner, or treat her to a hug or just a good ole “I love you, you know.” ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, I am blessed to have such a great, warm, and close family. Don’t be too jealous though, as we have our rough patches, too. Everyone does, but it just makes you enjoy the more peaceful times all theย more.

Enough of the sappy stuff.

This year, I have decided to paint something for my Dad. He has everything he needs, so I got him a bottle of his favorite ink for his fountain pen and just finished my first round with a painting of a house by a lake that we like to go to sometimes. It is peaceful there and calm, and far from the suburban-almost-city-life we have all the time. I want him to bring it to his office and just have it somewhere so that he can be reminded of the fun times we have at the house, and so that he has something concrete to remind him to plan our next trip out there. It’s also a nice touch because I had the good fortune of painting it on location! ๐Ÿ™‚

I snapped a picture of it and included it here:

bear creek lake house

I plan on matting it for him, probably with white. That will focus it a bit more.

Things I like:

  • I am getting bolder with color and more comfortable with letting different colors just blend on the paper.
  • I am improving my placement of values to create a sense of depth.
  • Less detail where I want less viewer focus, and more where I want you to look.
  • I sketched this before painting to get a feel for the scene and the proportions correct.
  • Much more realistic leaf clusters with plenty of sky holes, especially in foreground trees.

 

Things I would like to improve:

  • Even bolder colors ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Better shadows, but that could be a part of including bolder hues.
  • More interlocking shapes, even though this one really is not so easy because the crushed stone driveway is rather flat at the border of the house.
  • Adding figures.

 

It’s always an uphill battle with the things you strive to do. And you know what, I like it that way. ๐Ÿ™‚ It keeps life from getting too boring. With learning to paint, it is the same way. Really a challenge. However, the more I practice painting, the more things I like about my paintings and the fewer mistakes I make. I do want to move on to add figures and more contrast, but I need to get comfortable with basic landscapes and proportions first, as I am now. I understand this.

The most important thing is to keep trying. Also, remember, books and resources are fabulous, but they will do you no good if you don’t lift the paintbrush and give it a try yourself. In the words of Jack Sparrow, “…they’re more like guidelines.”

To all of you out there, I wish you a happy Father’s day, for all of the fathers you hold in your hearts. โค

 

One thought on “Father’s Day – Painting for Dad

Leave a Reply

