Kingfisher – August 31, 2016 Progress

I like to paint birds because they suggest movement and often can be portrayed using softness and color gradations – all things that I need practice on. Today I painted a kingfisher. I definitely need to improve my color blending, but I really enjoyed negative painting in the background. Lots of glazes there too, and the result is something I am quite happy with.

Overall, I am improving all the time. Here is a quick picture of the painting under my desk lamp…

kingfisher_painting

I like the gradations and what I did with the background, and I prefer one like this when compared to the one I fabricated for yesterday’s piece.

Materials:

1/4 of a 22×30 sheet of Natural White Kilimanjaro Watercolor paper, 140lb

Paints (M. Graham and Winsor Newton):

  • Prussian Blue
  • Yellow Deep
  • Burnt Sienna
  • Burnt Umber
  • Manganese Blue
  • Titanium White (M. Graham Gouache)

 

The paper was very good when compared to my normal choice of Arches. In fact, it performed very nicely and, not only was it my first use of an alternative and relatively cheaper 100% watercolor paper, but it was also my first use of a sheet of paper, as opposed to something that comes in a pad or notebook of some sort. I am planning on reviewing the paper after I work with it a bit more. So expect that in the near future, as I have another 3/4 of the sheet ready to go and a few more days of my vacation left!

Keep cool, and keep your brush dancing!

One thought on “Kingfisher – August 31, 2016 Progress

Leave a Reply

