Power of Preliminary Sketches

I know that I recently wrote a post regarding sketches and their importance in developing a good sense of perspective and such recently. Here are a few more.

In this case, I found this a WONDERFUL exercise in determining the proper colors for a job. I also got to test some new paints: Quinacridone Gold and Pyrrhol Red. What can I say, I am in LOVE with the red color. You can expect to see a lot more of it. It is also synonymous with Red Poppies.

Another good thing, I can see that my sketching abilities and planning have improved. The use of minimal colors is another skill that is good.

I hope you enjoy and are inspired to do the same. I can tell that this will be a great experience builder for me. It is also something I can do in minimal time, as both of these sketches took me no more than a half hour to do, including the sketching.

I encourage you all to give these a try. I for one know that the poppies will have another iteration on some smooth 140lb Arches. Perhaps even in the near future.

Always start at SquareOne, but know that you will never be done! 🙂

One thought on “Power of Preliminary Sketches

Leave a Reply

