Ladybug and Rosemary

I want to start off by apologizing for the delayed post. My only excuse is that lots of other things seemed to get in the way. However, I feel that this should not be put off any longer, so I have taken this moment, this very one, to write and display my completed painting. It is near midnight on a Saturday, and I have had a few too many caffeinated drinks today. Earl Grey, anyone? 🙂

Anyway, without further ado:

ladybug-and-rosemary-pic
Tada!

Yes, well, this is the closest I have come so far to portraying what I planned on paper. Honestly, my paintings normally have very long-lasting ugly duckling stages and end up as compromises of what I wanted to show. This one was different. I really like it.

Of course, this is just raw, no mat, no frame, not even ironed flat yet. But that I will leave for another day. Here, the colors and the contrast just seem to work for me. I really hope you grow bolder with colors and glazes, as I am. I find it really works. Also, the maintenance of a crisp line is paramount to separating shapes.

In this painting, I also tried very much not to overwork anything, and it is my best attempt yet. The ladybug was particularly challenging. I desperately wanted to adjust this and that, but it truly was best to just drop in a few colors and use a hungry brush to lighten where I wanted the light to hit her. It was difficult in that she took 4 seconds to paint (slight exaggeration there, more like 1 minute).

This painting is also the one that has spent the longest time on my desk. I must have spent a week painting it. Slowly. Pondering. Another glaze. Leave the ladybug alone. No, not there. Wait a day and see if you are happy. I hope you like listening to  my thoughts :).

Otherwise, here is the breakdown:

Paper: Arches hot press 9×12 140lb

Paints: Pyrrhol Red, Burnt Umber, Yellow Deep, Prussian Blue. All were M. Graham.

I really made an effort to tie together the colors and focus on the primaries. You can read about my process in the post leading up to this one, dissecting my preliminary color swatch.

As always, I wish you luck. I wish you good morning (it is now past midnight). I wish you a steady hand and a brave palette. It’s all in the spirit of fun. Spread the word about watercolor. You can only enrich yourself by enriching others. Send them here, so they can learn how to do it all from SquareOne!

One thought on “Ladybug and Rosemary

Leave a Reply

