Mijello Bulletproof Glass Palette

I recently treated myself and purchased a new watercolor palette for myself, as my sister also got back to learning how to paint and took my palette. She selflessly took my older palette, also by Mijello, and let me have the new one, because she admitted I have been painting more. So, here is a shout-out to her for being a great sibling! 🙂

I didn’t want to buy a palette that was too expensive, nor did I want to invest in something that had too many wells because I have found that more colors does not mean a better painting. In fact, often being more judicious with color choice and combination before starting a painting results in a better overall product – it just looks more coherent. Another thing I was looking for was good transportability of the palette, so that I could let the paint dry and pack it in my backpack for use at travel destinations. However, I wanted something that could also function well as a studio palette, as that was how it would spend the majority of its life. The final thing that I was looking for was for the palette to be less prone to staining and discoloration, as my former palette had after less than a year’s use.

mijello-bulletproof-glass-palette-in-use

I eventually settled on the Mijello Bulletproof Glass Palette you see in this post. It was larger, had ample mixing room, and had a few wells that were separated from one another which help when mixing some juicy washes for larger paintings, which I have started making. I like how the plastic (it is not actually glass) is clear, and I hope that it does not scratch so easily or stain as readily as my former palette.

mijello-bulletproof-glass-palette-box
It’s made in Korea. That is why the characters are on the front. The inserted manual was also in Korean, which made it of little use to me. The pictures were nice, though! 🙂

As you can see, I have already started using this palette, and there are a few wells that are empty as I do not have so many paints to fill it with. However, it leaves me room for growth, or at least more room for my favorites. Time will tell with that.

Now that I have purchased a new palette for myself, I’d like to know what your favorite watercolor palette is and what makes it hold that special status for you. Let me know in the comments below!

Keep painting my Squares!

Leave a Reply

