August 28, 2016 Progress Notes

Hello again. I know I have been on a long hiatus from posting, but I can tell you that I have kept up with my painting – more or less. I have a good excuse, though. I was spending a good part of my time for some more immediately important pursuits, like studying for the Dental Boards, Part 1. Fortunately, that is behind me now and I can move on with my other pursuits.

I have kept up with sketching and have begun to experiment a little bit with ink and wash. Some more on that later.

However, before leaving you again, I will share another painting I just completed that exhibits a lot of progress on my part.

winter stroll

I am quite pleased with it. It is my first attempt at working with a snow scene, and it is frame-worthy. I call it “Winter Stroll” and it reminds me of the many times I spent winter vacations up in the White Mountain region of New Hampshire with my family. Good times.

As customary, here are my materials:

Arches Rough paper, 140lb 9×12

Paints (watercolors, M. Graham and Winsor & Newton):

  • Prussian Blue
  • Ultramarine
  • Rose Madder
  • Yellow Deep
  • Dioxizine Violet
  • Burnt Umber
  • Titanium White (Gouache)

 

Another quick tidbit of exciting news: I have made my first official sale through my online store! There is a link in the About Me page if you want to take a peak. It is a step forward and something that just puts a goofy smile on my face when I think about it.

 

As I end this post, as always, I wish you good times and advise you never to underestimate the effect of drybrush. We all start at square 1. đŸ™‚

Leave a comment